Pain Relief

“What’s up, Mum?”

“I am really missing our neighbour, summer’s stopped again and I’ve got period pains.”

“Boys and men never ever get period pains, do they?”

“No.”

“That’s not fair on ladies.”

“Ha.”

I went upstairs to clean the bathroom. When I came downstairs looking for Nurofen, there was a plate with the torn-off end of a loaf of Soreen and the last chocolate mousse on it.

“Is that for me?”

“Yeah, to cheer you up.”

“Wow, thank you.”

“Also, I recorded one of your favourite programmes for you.”

“What was that?”

“Charlie and Lola.”

I used to watch that with him when he was two or three. It must have been back then that I told him I like it.

So we curled up on the sofa and learned about hailstones and thunder and I forgot about the Nurofen (until he went to bed.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

