Thanks, Year Twos

“Mum?”

“Yes?”

“I don’t think I believe in Father Christmas anymore.”

“Why not?!”

“Well, the Year Twos say it’s just your mum or dad who brings the presents and if you think about it, it makes sense.”

One of the best things about being a parent is the fact that Christmas gets magical again. It is no longer about horrible shopping malls, tinsel round your computer monitor and lairy office drunks. The real meaning of Christmas comes back: Father Christmas returns.

You get so into the idea of Santa that you almost believe again. So much so that last Christmas Eve, I think I actually thought Father Christmas was going to turn up – until I sobered up a bit and realised I had to make crumbs from the carrot and mince pie, pour white glitter all over the rug and lug the presents out from their hiding places.

Everything about Christmas with kids – nativity plays, advent calendars, twinkling lights – is wonderful, even to the hardened antichrist. Sometimes I think I can’t believe I am doing this when I am gathering tat for his stocking from the pound shop, or helping him fashion lumps of salt dough into animals for the tree. It is probably the time of year when I feel most like a passable mother.

When Tom was about a week old, he got a terrible cold and couldn’t breathe very well. I blamed myself entirely for being shit at breastfeeding and took him to the hospital in the middle of the night.

“Ooh, they don’t stay like that for long, do they?” said the receptionist, hands on her hips, staring at this livid, red screaming thing strapped in his car seat.

I’m writing the book at the moment and it’s hard, because although I kept notebooks a lot of the time, I can’t remember how it actually feels to hold a tiny baby in your arms, or change its nappy, or listen to the weird little noises they make. I often think back to that moment in the hospital, because the receptionist was absolutely right. And now, when I see Tom full of genuine glee when he changes the number on his Christmas countdown bear, or chases a child dressed as a sheep across a stage with a tea towel on his head, I can’t help but think he won’t stay like this for long.

Next year, Tom will be a Year Two, which means thanks to someone’s evil big brother or sister, he’s highly likely to stop believing altogether. I think I might have managed to eke another year of believing out of him by telling him the Year Twos will not be getting a visit from Santa and ordering one of those personalised letters (which still hasn’t arrived, actually. Hurry up.) As much as I am gutted that they opened their little mouths and tried to ruin everything, I am quite grateful to the Year Twos, because this Christmas Eve, I am going to savour every single magical moment.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Thanks, Year Twos

  1. I was an evil year two back in the day. I’d never been told about Santa Claus so knew by default it must be a lie. My five-year old self was so full of righteous indignation that I told the whole class they were being deceived. A friend’s mother grabbed me some time after that and hounded me for my bad deed. I was confused and outraged. Lying was wrong, I knew that much. But now, telling the truth was wrong too. It was too much for me. Sometimes I think Santa is more for the parents than the kids
    πŸ™‚

  2. Ragged Thread Cartographer

    I do remember as a small child secretly getting out of bed on Christmas Eve to sit by the window for HOURS waiting to see that sleigh swoop across the sky. Am so glad I believed for a long, long time.

    • Emily

      Me too. And listening for the bells. Oh wow, it was just ace. I almost believed again this year! Thought I might bump into him when I was standing over the stove at 4am…

  3. My oldest is in year 2 but he still believes and none of his classmates have spread “rumours” about Santa not being real. I think I’m going to be really sad the day he figures it all out – Christmas is indeed magical when they believe in all of it’s magic πŸ™‚

    • Emily

      Isn’t it just? He definitely believes again after the glut of presents and a letter thought the post (I can’t believe he wrote to me, this is amazing!) Until next year…

  4. Ridley

    See, when I figured it out I kept it to myself because I assumed that was the only way to keep the flow of presents coming.

    I’m a better person now. I think.

Leave a Reply

