From Shropshire with love

“So, how was your first day in Year One?”

“Great thanks Mum. We had to tell the class our favourite bit about summer.”

“What did you say?”

Two festivals, one camping trip,  a lovely stay in the countryside, loads of walks in parks, swimming, sports camp, the seaside and the cinema; I was intrigued to find out which bit of his busy summer Tom had chosen as his favourite.

“I said my favourite bit was when we looked after the house in Russia. It was in Russia, wasn’t it Mum?”

“It was in Staffordshire, near Shropshire.”

“That’s what I meant. Shropshire.”

“What did your teacher say?”

“She said “Wow! I’ve never been to Russia, what is it like?””

“What did you say?”

“I said it is really beautiful.”

“Please will you tell her tomorrow that you meant Shropshire, not Russia?”

“OK. If you remind me in the morning.”

“OK.”

“Mum?”

“Yes?”

“She also asked me to tell the class my best thing of all from my whole holiday in Russia.”

“What did you say?”

“I said the best thing in Russia was the yummy chocolate milkshake, but I drank it too fast and my mum got cross because she thought I was going to get dire ear. But in the end it was OK because my tummy was just a bit upset and the dire ear didn’t come.”

Excellent.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “From Shropshire with love

  1. hahaha!! Reminds me of a few years ago when my son had to draw a pic and write about his holiday, like you we’d done lots of exciting things but he drew a picture of Marks and Spencer and wrote about when we’d bumped into his teacher in there! kids eh?

    • Emily

      I love that! They are so funny. I think his teacher does actually think I took him house-sitting in Russia and that the best thing that happened to him while he was there was a dodgy milkshake.

  2. Sophie

    Loved reading this Emily! I just read it out to my boyfriend who also giggled. We live in Shropshire so it’s great to hear that he liked it here!

    • Emily

      Aw thanks for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed. Lucky you living there, we went on a hike in Hawkstone Park and it was one of the most beautiful / surreal places we have ever been. Go if you haven’t been already, but set off early and prefer for a bit of a trek!

  3. Cool blog- I remember a nativity play where baby cheeses was born in Birmingham…

    Chrissy
    http://mancunianwave.blogspot.com/

  4. I hope I never get ‘dire ear’. It sounds awful. 🙂 Hope year 1 continues to thrill him.

  5. Reminds me of when my youngest daughter bought me a mood necklace, and got very carried away with what all the different colours meant – the best one was when it turned dark blue/purple – “Oh mummy, you’re feeling all morantic!” A new word has officially entered our household vocabulary!

  6. Awww that is dear. Let them think your son went to Russia and drank a shake. What’s the harm? None of them will remember the next day anyway.

Leave a Reply

